FINALLY! Wind Is Gone and the Temperatures Are UP! GARDENING UPDATE!

~~By NM-Girl (IA)

Well, I’ve been slaving away in the garden every moment I have over the last few days. A couple of days ago, it happened. You could tell.

The winds died down and instead of the cool weather, we started feeling warm. Warm enough to make the car hot during the time I was in the store shopping.  Warm enough to make some of the plants look a little wilted midday.  It’s all about the sun–today it’s overcast, but for the last few days the sun has been stronger.  I’m already tanning if I go out for just a few minutes without my sun gear.

I have a big hat with a flap which covers my neck and an array of long-sleeved shirts that I use when I walk the dogs and go to the mailbox.  No matter how hot it gets–and it gets HOT–I still put those things on.  I’m sure people think I’m nuts.

Saturday I planted the new Belle of Georgia peach. Even with a pre-existing hole (after I pulled out the old tree), it was still a huge job as I enlarged the whole and mixed in a lot more compost and root stimulator.

On Sunday I planted a lot of the pots and sweet potato slips.  Yesterday, I moved around a lot of extra stones which I was getting out of the way while preparing the spot for the new chocolate flower.  In the morning, this perennial does smell like chocolate. I killed one a couple of years ago in the wrong spot, so I’m trying again. I’m going to wait to see if rains tonight or tomorrow before digging so I can take advantage if any moisture helps soften up the  hard concrete-like sandy “soil.”

So, here are some pics of where things are now in the garden!

The honeysuckle is blooming now…

Blooming honeysuckle...

Blooming honeysuckle...

The cactus is sprouting…

Cactus awakening...

Cactus awakening...

The mockingbird surveys the scene below:

2009_0421gardenfinallyspring0024

Here’s a view across the covered patio looking toward the vegetable beds:

2009_0421gardenfinallyspring0030From the opposite direction to the other side of the yard:

2009_0421gardenfinallyspring0031The far corner of the yard where the white-tailed doves and rock squirrels eat cracked corn…a vitex tree starting to leaf out by corner…

2009_0421gardenfinallyspring0032Lots of fruit is growing now…and the squirrel was spotted in the yard…more next time!!

10 thoughts on “FINALLY! Wind Is Gone and the Temperatures Are UP! GARDENING UPDATE!

  1. Pingback: Saturday Sanity: The Antidote to the Madness (April 25, 2009) The Squirrels Invade « Open Range Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Saturday Sanity: The Antidote to the Madness (The Squirrels Invade) « Open Range Ramblings

  3. Pingback: ~~By InsightAnalytical-GRL I had a very busy week in the garden this week and posted the details here. Today, I finally got the chocolate flower into the ground. Hopefully, I won’t drown this one…it’s tricky with desert plants because th

  4. It has been a glorious day here in chicago. On Monday, I noticed the magnolia that stands near the “el”evated tracks was blooming. And today, as I walked from my office building to the “el”, I noted the crab apple trees were working harder than I did today. They are going to be completely open by Monday! It is so beautiful to see flowering trees in the heart of a big city. I’m almost looking forward to the beginning of the work week…

    • Leslie, glad things are shaping up in Chicago! I’d love to see pics of the “el” and the trees!
      Years ago I rode the train from the main train station out to a hotel near the airport for a convention. I actually took the train from Trenton to Chicago overnight!!

  5. I was surprised when it broke 80 degrees yesterday–I made another trip to Mexico and passed through your town. I caught the sunset from Cruces last night during my return. Do you see it? Very nice.

  6. Finally got some warm weather here in Wisconsin and was able to clear several flower beds of winter detritus and get them ready for planting. Lou was overjoyed to discover that all roses made it through the winter and are showing signs of new growth.

    The lavender made it once again too. Which makes me very happy since I make a lavendar oil every year.

  7. GRL, It is beautiful!! Your posts about your garden are so welcome, and the pictures are absolutely delightful. Your mockingbird reminds me of one who used to frequent my back yard when I had my house. My husband named her/him Maggie and they carried on a conversation almost every day. After he passed away, I tried to continue the conversations, but Maggie wanted nothing to do with me.

    I will be moving next week, finally, and can hardly wait to have a back yard and patio to enjoy again. It won’t be the same as my old place, but much better than where I am now. Perhaps then I can pass on a few pictures of my own to you.

    Thanks for the respite from the world.

  8. Update…82 degrees today and sunny after the clouds left…

Leave a Reply

